Mobile security features of BBM Messenger upgraded

Blackberry’s latest update to its popular app has been designed to boost its privacy level.

BlackBerry has recently announced that the latest update to the BBM Messenger, across the versions for BB10, iOS, and Android devices, has been launched in order to help to enhance the mobile security level that will protect the privacy of the users.

A new feature has become a central part of the update to the smartphone app, specifically aimed at privacy.

The company has decided to add the additional security feature as a part of the premium components of the app. This mobile security addition can be purchased for a monthly or annual subscription fee. It provides BBM Messenger users with access to a range of features that will include the ability to send a timed message that will self destruct once it has been read, as well as the opportunity to stop their sender details from being revealed on the interface.

Among the more appealing of these mobile security features for BBM Messenger is to retract a mistakenly sent message.

Mobile Security - Blackberry BBM Apps UpgradedThis would mean that if a message was sent to the wrong recipient, by accident, or if the mobile app user changes his or her mind about the message that was sent, it is possible to retract it as long as the recipient has not yet seen it.

The users of the free BBM Messenger service won’t be without the additional mobile privacy features. However, theirs will be limited when compared to the ones that will be offered with the premium subscription. For instance, people who are using the free app will still be able to send timed messages that will self destruct.

However, they will not have access to the additional feature that allows them to keep their user details a secret from those with whom they are communicating. Furthermore, it continues to allow recipients to take screenshots that could be saved as evidence, potentially negating the benefit of the self destructing timed messages.

The retracted messages are also a mobile security feature that will be saved exclusively for those who will be using the service through a paid subscription.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.